Recent advances in understanding the biology of marginal zone lymphoma

Citations of this article
Mendeley users who have this article in their library.


There are three different marginal zone lymphomas (MZLs): the extranodal MZL of mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue (MALT) type (MALT lymphoma), the splenic MZL, and the nodal MZL. The three MZLs share common lesions and deregulated pathways but also present specific alterations that can be used for their differential diagnosis. Although trisomies of chromosomes 3 and 18, deletions at 6q23, deregulation of nuclear factor kappa B, and chromatin remodeling genes are frequent events in all of them, the three MZLs differ in the presence of recurrent translocations, mutations affecting the NOTCH pathway, and the transcription factor Kruppel like factor 2 ( KLF2) or the receptor-type protein tyrosine phosphatase delta ( PTPRD). Since a better understanding of the molecular events underlying each subtype may have practical relevance, this review summarizes the most recent and main advances in our understanding of the genetics and biology of MZLs.




Zucca, E., Bertoni, F., & Rossi, D. (2018). Recent advances in understanding the biology of marginal zone lymphoma. F1000Research. F1000 Research Ltd.

Register to see more suggestions

Mendeley helps you to discover research relevant for your work.

Already have an account?

Save time finding and organizing research with Mendeley

Sign up for free