A Phylogenetic Classification of Polemoniaceae

  • Porter M
  • Johnson L
Citations of this article
Mendeley users who have this article in their library.


Three hundred and seventy nine species of Polemoniaceae are arranged in a phylogenetic classification composed of three subfamilies, eight tribes, and 26 genera. Nomeclature of one tribe is clarified and the circumscription of several tribes differs greatly from previous classifications. Five new genera, Byantiella, Dayia, Lathrocasis, Microgilia and Saltugilia are proposed. In addition, four new species are described from the genera Allophyllum, Dayia, Giliastrum and Ipomopsis. The treatment represents a major reclassification with 59 new combinations, and the application of several additional combinations not used in recent years.




Porter, M., & Johnson, L. (2016). A Phylogenetic Classification of Polemoniaceae. Aliso, 55–91. https://doi.org/10.5642/aliso.20001901.06

Register to see more suggestions

Mendeley helps you to discover research relevant for your work.

Already have an account?

Save time finding and organizing research with Mendeley

Sign up for free