Genes encoding the alpha, gamma, delta, and four F0 subunits of ATP synthase constitute an operon in the cyanobacterium Anabaena sp. strain PCC 7120.

  • McCarn D
  • Whitaker R
  • Alam J
 et al. 
  • 3


    Mendeley users who have this article in their library.
  • 61


    Citations of this article.


A cluster of genes encoding subunits of ATP synthase of Anabaena sp. strain PCC 7120 was cloned, and the nucleotide sequences of the genes were determined. This cluster, denoted atp1, consists of four F0 genes and three F1 genes encoding the subunits a (atpI), c (atpH), b' (atpG), b (atpF), delta (atpD), alpha (aptA), and gamma (atpC) in that order. Closely linked upstream of the ATP synthase subunit genes is an open reading frame denoted gene 1, which is equivalent to the uncI gene of Escherichia coli. The atp1 gene cluster is at least 10 kilobase pairs distant in the genome from apt2, a cluster of genes encoding the beta (atpB) and epsilon (atpE) subunits of the ATP synthase. This two-clustered ATP synthase gene arrangement is intermediate between those found in chloroplasts and E. coli. A unique feature of the Anabaena atp1 cluster is overlap between the coding regions for atpF and atpD. The atp1 cluster is transcribed as a single 7-kilobase polycistronic mRNA that initiates 140 base pairs upstream of gene 1. The deduced translation products for the Anabaena sp. strain PCC 7120 subunit genes are more similar to chloroplast ATP synthase subunits than to those of E. coli.

Get free article suggestions today

Mendeley saves you time finding and organizing research

Sign up here
Already have an account ?Sign in

Find this document


  • D. F. McCarn

  • R. A. Whitaker

  • J. Alam

  • J. M. Vrba

  • S. E. Curtis

Cite this document

Choose a citation style from the tabs below

Save time finding and organizing research with Mendeley

Sign up for free