A novel approach to thoracic wall reconstruction based on a muscle perforator

  • Kishi K
  • Imanishi N
  • Ninomiya R
 et al. 
  • 1


    Mendeley users who have this article in their library.
  • 3


    Citations of this article.


When reconstructing the thoracic wall, non-adaptation of the suture line is a critical concern, especially when artificial implants are used. Therefore, a reliable and safe flap is required. Based on an anatomical study of cadavers, we decided to dissect the pectoralis major musculo-cutaneous flap into two parts, on the surface and beneath the muscle fascia, while preserving the muscle perforators. We designated the skin portion as the V-Y advancement flap or rotation V-Y advancement flap and the muscle flap as the transposition flap. Both flaps had different suture lines. We applied this method to two patients requiring reconstruction of anterior thoracic defects with artificial implants. One patient did not have adverse effects, and the flaps took well. The shape of the breast did not change significantly. However, the other patient was a heavy smoker. Although the V-Y advancement flap took well, the cutaneous triangular tip made at the time of tumour resection became necrotic. However, the underlying pectoralis major muscles successfully covered the implants and did not show any signs of infection. In conclusion, reconstruction of the anterior thoracic wall to change the suture line with a V-Y advancement flap, based on the muscle perforator and pectoralis major muscle flap, is a useful and reliable method, especially when an artificial implant is used. © 2009 British Association of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgeons. Published by Elsevier Ltd. All rights reserved.

Author-supplied keywords

  • Artificial implant
  • Pectoralis major
  • Perforator
  • Reconstruction
  • Suture line
  • Thoracic wall

Get free article suggestions today

Mendeley saves you time finding and organizing research

Sign up here
Already have an account ?Sign in

Find this document


  • Kazuo Kishi

  • Nobuaki Imanishi

  • Ruka Ninomiya

  • Keisuke Okabe

  • Hirotoshi Ohara

  • Noriko Hattori

Cite this document

Choose a citation style from the tabs below

Save time finding and organizing research with Mendeley

Sign up for free