The Phylogeny and Classification of the Zingiberales

  • Kress W
  • 48


    Mendeley users who have this article in their library.
  • N/A


    Citations of this article.


In the Zingiberales, a primarily tropical order of monocotyledons, most phylogenists currently recognize eight families: Musaceae, Strelitziaceae, Lowiaceae, Heliconiaceae, Zingiberaceae, Costaceae, Cannaceae, and Marantaceae. Some taxonomists still prefer the earlier classifications that included Strelitziaceae, Lowiaceae, and Heliconiaceae in Musaceae s.l., and Costaceae as a part of Zingiberaceae s.l. Attempts to reconstruct the phylogenetic history of the order have been made by Lane, Tomlinson, and Dahlgren & Rasmussen. An original analysis of the evolutionary relationships of the eight families of the Zingiberales based on the principles of phylogenetic systematics is presented here. The most parsimonious topology is (Musaceae (Strelitziaceae (Lowiaceae (Heliconiaceae ((Zingiberaceae, Costaceae) (Cannaceae, Marantaceae)). The cladogram rejects the recognition of Musaceae s.l. as an evolutionary group. A new phylogenetic classification based on the cladogram is proposed that recognizes eight families, two superfamilies, and five suborders within the Zingiberales.

Get free article suggestions today

Mendeley saves you time finding and organizing research

Sign up here
Already have an account ?Sign in

Find this document


  • W John Kress

Cite this document

Choose a citation style from the tabs below

Save time finding and organizing research with Mendeley

Sign up for free