Emended descriptions of genera of the family Halobacteriaceae

Citations of this article
Mendeley users who have this article in their library.


The family Halobacteriaceae currently contains 96 species whose names have been validly published, classified in 27 genera (as of September 2008). In recent years, many novel species have been added to the established genera but, in many cases, one or more properties of the novel species do not agree with the published descriptions of the genera. Authors have often failed to provide emended genus descriptions when necessary. Following discussions of the International Committee on Systematics of Prokaryotes Subcommittee on the Taxonomy of Halobacteriaceae, we here propose emended descriptions of the genera Halobacterium, Haloarcula, Halococcus, Haloferax, Halorubrum, Haloterrigena, Natrialba, Halobiforma and Natronorubrum. © 2009 IUMS.




Oren, A., Arahal, D. R., & Ventosa, A. (2009). Emended descriptions of genera of the family Halobacteriaceae. International Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Microbiology, 59(3), 637–642. https://doi.org/10.1099/ijs.0.008904-0

Register to see more suggestions

Mendeley helps you to discover research relevant for your work.

Already have an account?

Save time finding and organizing research with Mendeley

Sign up for free